THE FENOUILLÈDES, the last foothills of the Corbières has a varied landscape – a rugged skyline with its vertiginous rocky ridges and coarse vegetation. The schist and clay-limestone soil is ideal for producing the renowned Maury wines and also the Côtes du Roussillon Villages. The Caune grotto, where the Tautavel Man was discovered in 1971, is still an important site for archaeological digs.
Tautavel - Site de visite immanquable en Occitanie
Modifications are due to begin at the end of this year in the Museum of the First Inhabitants of Europe and the Prehistory Museum. The object is to make the museums even more interactive and dynamic to enhance this already remarkable site. The famous Man of Tautavel was discovered in 1971 in the Caune de l’Arago – cave. Subsequent archaeological excavations brought many fossils to light and in 2014 and 2015 two human teeth were found, probably dating back 560,000 years. The walls and the keep still remain of what was a 13th century feudal (and later a royal) castle.
VIEW of the Corbières hills from the 10th century Torre del Far.
LOOK AT the Moretti Wall with its huge mural depicting the History of Man, which was moved from Paris and installed in Tautavel.
Estagel - TOURISME CULTUREL SUR LES TRACES DE FRANÇOIS ARAGO
Positioned on what was the Franco-Spanish border at the time, the town was obliged to build fortifications, of which some ruins still remain. A physicist and renowned politician, François Arago (1783-1853) was born in Estagel and a statue of him was erected in 1856.
LOOK AT the three reredoses in the 12th century church of Saint Etienne and Saint Vincent... also the Clock Tower as well as the Saint Vincent chapel situated on the outskirts of town.
Belesta - Musée de la Préhistoire à deux pas du site de Tautavel
The grave discovered in a grotto in 1983 is today exhibited in the Museum of Prehistory, which is housed in a medieval castle. An exhibition retracing the life of Rennie Mackintosh is due to remain open in the village until 2020.
Saint-Paul-de-Fenouillet - Visite culturelle sur la route des châteaux cathares
The former Benedictine abbey, founded in the 10th century became a Chapter in the 14th century. The well-preserved heptagonal bell tower is quite unique in the region. The decorations were moulded and sculpted with gypse, and the columns were added around the 17th century.
LOOK AT the 14th century church of the Chapter.
DISCOVER the Clue de la Fou and its water which remains at 24°C throughout the year.